Death Cab for Cutie (to Guatemala from Tripoli)

Thursday. That’s my milestone for the week, get to Thursday (YES, I know, it’s my milestone every week!). However, this Thursday is special. Thursday 1pm marks the start of my vacation. Eighteen days of freedom… Ok, slight exaggeration there, but it will be nice to spend a sustained amount of time out of Libya. Time to recharge the batteries J

This trip will be condemned by those silly hippy’s telling me I’m killing the earth due to my excessive travelling, but I don’t care. It’s my holiday! I will be flying from Tripoli to London where I will be staying the night. The next day I will take a flight to Guatemala via Dallas. I will spend eleven Days in Guatemala, before heading back to London from where I will get a flight to Dubai, where I will spend the remainder of my holidays before returning to Tripoli via London.

To say I’m excited would be an understatement of unimaginable proportions! The reason for this abundant excitement? The geek in me has overpowered the… well the lesser geek, yet still a geek, and he will list the reasons I’m so excited about the trip (I know… listing excitement seems slight paradoxical)

  1. The night in London will be spent with friends, some of which I haven’t seen in some time.
  2. I’ve never been across the pond to the Americas, so will be a new continent to add to my conquests.
  3. The 10 days in Guatemala will be spent backpacking around the country with four other people. It’s a change from the ‘solo’ or visiting a friend trips I’ve done over the last few years.
  4. The fellow travelers who meet in Guatemala coming from Dominican Republic, Miami and Portugal. The first being Adventurepants Leo (see blog). The second person and third is Adventurepants girlfriend Outrageous Olivia and his best friend Drew (both of which I’ve never met in person, though there is drunken phone conversation with Oli on record). Finally we will be joined by my friend Jacqui from Portugal. Five Strangers (well almost). One Country. One Goal. FUN
  5. The five days in Dubai/ Abu Dhabi will be spent seeing my friends there again (Second time in a month). Will also meet a friend who I haven’t seen in over two and a half years who is going to be in Dubai for business.

There the list is over. Lesser geeky activities to resume ending organized manifestations of UBER excitement about the trip!

On a completely (and I do mean COMPLETELY) unrelated subject, I discovered an awesome song from the band Death Cab for Cutie. The song is called ‘Little Bribes’. The only reason I felt compelled to mention the song is due to a verse in the song which might easily now be my favourite verses in a song ever:

“Pretend every slot machine is a robot amputee waving hello
The people stare into their eyes
And they feed them little bribes and then they go”
(Little Bribes – Death Cab for Cutie)

The song is about Las Vegas but for some obvious reasons I thought of Dubai when I first heard it. Maybe the verses below have something to do with it:

“You said this city has a beating heart
That pushes people down the boulevard
And they’re all hoping for a wish fulfilled
In a desert for a dollar bill
Those foolish dreams, you know they plague me still”
(Little Bribes – Death Cab for Cutie)

But what I hope this post does is introduce some more people to Death Cab. My friend Umer in Abu Dhabi introduced me this band to me and I’ve been hooked ever since. So go out and (legally) download some Death Cab (or The Postal Service). There I did my bit for the marketing department of their record label!

This entry was posted in Expat Life, Life in Libya and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Death Cab for Cutie (to Guatemala from Tripoli)

  1. Umer says:

    I’m in Abu Dhabi you tosspot – I hate that I shared my knowledge with you.

  2. Umer says:

    My comment “is awaiting moderation”!? What kinda rubbish is that??

    Kiss my ass, moderator.

  3. Enjoy your trip! It sounds wonderful!! I’ve been enjoying reading your blog, it’s really funny and informative. My family will most likely be moving to Libya in a month or two for my husband’s job. We’re really excited and a little nervous 🙂

    • tonyrfsa says:

      Thanks. Regarding moving to Libya, it’s not easy but it’s definitely a great experience and coming over with a Family makes it easier than coming alone, so I’m sure you will be fine here!

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

