Jodido pero Contento

For those of you who have no idea what the title of this post means, let me enlighten you. “Jodido pero Contente” literally means f*cked but happy or in other words, you’re completely screwed yet it is not going to bring you down. It is the name of really good song by Spanish artist Concha Buika (click to hear). 

In case you’re thinking I’ve lost it again, I haven’t. On the contrary. I’m completely sane and utterly happy at the moment.

Yes I am screwed. Totally. I’m dead from work. Since getting back from Peru, my workload has increased exponentially. My six day week which consisted of mostly six eight hour days has gone to six twelve hour days. Come Friday (my day off) I have no energy for anything, apart from sleep and lazily preparing shisha to puff on whilst motionlessly collapsed on the most uncomfortable couch in the world.

In spite of this, I couldn’t be happier. I am busy. I am learning. I am getting experience I will not get anywhere else. Not only that, but I have some great colleagues who through the process of working together have become friends.

I’ve gotten used to Libya. Yes, no one can deny that it can be a tough (relative term here) place at times but in the end, I have found ways of enjoying it. Be it, by travelling or just chilling at the compound with its colourful array of characters.

There are other reasons I’m pleased with my life at the moment but I don’t want to bore anyone.

However there is one above all else that has put me in my rather chipper mood. The complete unpredictable nature of life. It’s amazing that no matter how much you try and plan your life out, that things don’t always go according to that plan. I’ve long given up on planning out my life and have taken a more let’s-see-how-this-pans-out approach to life.

This approach has served me well. Yes at times, it caused some sadness, some frustration, some anger, some broken hearts but in the end, I have stories which are filled with some amazing people and some fantastic memories.

Thus far, life has been unpredictable but ultimately, a life worth living.

 

 

This entry was posted in Expat Life, Life in Libya, Nonsense, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jodido pero Contento

  1. dan says:

    THE BEST TRANSLATION THAT I HAVE HEARD FOR JODIDO PERO CONTENTO IS…………..

    LIKE 2 DOGS AFTER SCREWING AND ARE HUNG UP REAR TO REAR…..

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

