Libya sleeps alone tonight (with the sound of bombs)…

I was busy writing a post about Libya yesterday and specifically a part about my Libyan friend Abdul, of which I hadn’t received news since I left Libya. Every day I would try and call him, but never got through and yesterday, while writing about him, I thought I’d give it another go. Usually it just goes to the default message in Arabic saying the number is unavailable, however yesterday it rang… I waited to see if anyone answered but no-one did. I hung up.

A few seconds after, my phone rang and Abdul’s name appeared one screen. I hesitantly answered. To hear the voice of a friend, which you weren’t sure was still alive, brings about a feeling of relief that I can’t even begin to explain. The tears were close to flowing; that’s how relieved I was. We spoke briefly and he told me he and his family, and some other Libyan colleagues were fine.

After a month of not knowing, I now feel so much better and hope that they can remain safe during this difficult time for Libya and her people.

This entry was posted in Random, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Libya sleeps alone tonight (with the sound of bombs)…

  1. razzlemonster says:

    One forgets how real it is until it happens to someone you know.
    My thoughts are with Libya & the people too.

    • Tonito says:

      Very true. I’ve had the good fortune of never being in the position before, but now know how it feels. Let’s hope this is not a drawn out conflict…

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

