One month in the Land of Smiles

A month ago arrived in Beira after spending two and a half months in my no man´s land: London. It was a period of some deserved relaxation after a couple of months of intense and hard work in Tripoli, which came to an abrupt end due to the raging civil war. A month into a new home, is always a good milestone to write about and I did so with Tripoli and will do so again.

"I´m working how many hours a day?!?!?!" (Photo Credit: Leo Neves)

So how do I feel about my first month in Mozambique? In complete honesty I´m feeling  slightly bitter sweet about it. There are a couple of reasons for this however fortunately they have very little to do with the country but more to do with the circumstances.

 I´ll start with the bad in order to end the post on a high.

 All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy…

Work has been insane since arriving and even though my weekend here in Mozambique is slightly longer that in Libya (One and a half day instead of one) the working hours have increased. I´ve been doing twelve to fourteen hours a day. I get up at 5:30 am and by the time it´s 9pm I feel extremely tired, which is annoying as that is the time I want to Skype with Raquel, which either means I´m grumpy from tiredness or sleepy… However, this is what my life has been like for the last year and a half, so no use in complaining.

All this work means I haven´t done something which I love doing: Exploring. In my first month in Libya I had practically arranged two trips to explore the country. Here, none of that. I´ve been here for a month and the most I´ve done is walk along the beach. I only have myself to blame but considering the hours I´m doing, I´m way too tired to do anything else, though I´m looking to change that in the coming weeks with a visit to Gorongosa National Park.

Gorongosa Sunset (Courtesy of Africa Bespoke)

There is one thing missing here in Mozambique and that´s a support network. I made some really good friends and this meant I always had someone to talk to, joke around with etc. Here as it has been all work and no play, I haven´t made any effort in being social. This is my fault, I know. However, this lack of a social network here has meant that I really miss the group of people I used to work with in Libya. Once again, this has nothing to do with the country and more to do with circumstances and something I have the ability to change.

Finally, having spent two and a half solid months with Raquel in London, being apart again is very difficult. This has probably been the hardest thing of this relocation. After 10 years away from home, I´m used to not seeing my family often, so nothing changes with regards to that here in Mozambique. With Raquel it´s different, not being with her is still very new. I don´t like it. I don´t like it all.

Something missing in Mozambique

Okay, enough of me crying and moaning. There are highly positive aspects to living here and adjusting to this country.

I totally know what you´re saying!!!

This is the fifth country I´m living in and in the two previous relocations, language became a problem, more so in Libya than the Emirates. So, this is the first time that I´ve relocated and haven´t had to worry about communication. If I need something I ask for it, simple as that. No need for over elaborated hand gestures, one-word sentences and translators. It really does make a MASSIVE difference to adjusting and adapting to a place when you can communicate well. Obviously in my case, this is only possible as I speak Portuguese. If you don´t speak the language, it will be a lot harder to adapt.

Another massive plus, as my previous poststated is living right next to the beach. There is something different about walking along a beach. There´s just something about the sound of waves breaking on the beach which is soothing and calming which I really can´t get enough of. I´m already looking forward to my walk this weekend (Yes Raquel, I´m looking forward to walking!)

I´m falling in love with the beach!

There are also some unexpected positives to this move. Some opportunities have arisen here in Mozambique to do some other things outside of work which will be a welcome break from the tedium. One of these is regarding the social schemes run by the company I work. The social schemes are still being planned out in order to be implemented. I´ve volunteered myself for some of the possible projects, which would basically involve the transfer of knowledge in order to help locals gain a foothold in some areas of work and also give them some skills which they wouldn´t have otherwise. I´m quite excited about this work, as this is something that I enjoy doing.

Once again, I have to mention Mozambiqueans. They have been great! They are friendly and from my working relationship with them, are willing to work and take some pride in their work. I´ve obviously refering to the people I work with in the office, as I don´t have access to others. This is a welcome change to Libya where work ethic left a lot to be desired at times.

Smiling faces

Anyway, that´s enough of my observations, the point remains, I have no regrets about this move and look forward to my life here in this country.

This entry was posted in Expat Life, Life in Beira and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One month in the Land of Smiles

  1. Pingback: When Love and Hate Colide – Six months of life in Beira | Travelling Tonito's Adventures

  2. Pingback: C’est Pas Facile Pour Moi: One month in Conakry « Travelling Tonito's Adventures

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

