Meet the Delusion twins: Beira and Porto

The internet and google brought an age where whatever information you needed, you could find. This is especially useful when travelling and moving around for expats. Every time I move to different city, I immediately wiki the city, to find out more about it. There was one piece of information I didn’t really care about, until I looked up Beira. Most cities on Wikipedia have a section which shows which cities the one you’re looking at is twinned to. In Beira’s case, one of the cities is Porto in Portugal. PORTO?? REALLY?!?! WHAT THE HELL?!?!?

I looked up what this twinning of cities actually means and this is what came up:

“Twin towns are towns or cities in different countries which are paired to encourage human contact and cultural links. Twin towns often (but not always) have similar populations, industries and other characteristics.” Mr Wikipedia

Okay… But for the life of me I don’t understand how Beira was twinned with Porto. I cannot see any cultural link between the two, they don’t have similar populations industries or characteristics. Who decides on this twinning? Is it the cities, or some random institution? Look at my posts for Beira and Porto and see if you can find a reason to twin them? Beira’s wikipage claims they have been twinned where Porto didn’t seem too keen on twinning and simply name Beira as a “Partner Town” . I don’t understand this twinning concept. It’s odd.  That’s my rant for today.

This entry was posted in Expat Life, Life in Beira, Nonsense, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

