My friend Uncertainty and our love/hate relationship

Up until 2006 I was rather laborious when it came to friends. Stability, Comfort and Orthodoxy were top of my friend list and I thought I liked it that way. In 2007 I made friends with spontaneity and Adventure, and since then, well, life changed. They made me leave my friends Stability and Orthodoxy behind and made me move to Abu Dhabi. I like them and they have become good friends with me.

However, they invited Uncertainty to the party, and things have been a bit more complicated ever since. We became acquainted in Abu Dhabi when uncertainty had me living out of a packed suitcase for six months. We met again during the start of 2011 when I was projectless due to the war in Libya. And now, once again, we meet as I have no idea of when I will return to Mozambique or whether I will return at all. Why?

Well, March is already past its midway point and I remain in London, in limbo, awaiting news of my prospective project in Mozambique. If you remember, the initial plan was me spending January in London; February doing some company training; and hopefully start the project in March/April. As you can surmise, none of this has occurred, which is beyond the control of my employers, however doesn’t mean that it isn’t frustrating.

I don’t mind some unpredictability in my life, actually sometimes I welcome it, however too much of it, as always, is no fun at all.  In our case, it simply means we can’t make any plans, short-term or mid-term. Add to that we also have a wedding to plan, which on its own can be stressful enough, now add some uncertainty to that mix and you have a bag of fun!

I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious Ambiguity.

However, is it worth getting upset and annoyed about it? I don’t think so and when I read the quote above by Gilda Radner, I was reminded once again about how the best tactic is to live life for the moment!

This entry was posted in Expat Life, Life in Between, Random, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My friend Uncertainty and our love/hate relationship

  1. It is unfortunate to be unable to make plans. I focus on all the delightful little curveballs that life throws me.

    How many of your experiences wouldn’t you have had if you’d insisted on planning every detail ahead?

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

