Conakry: The adventure in it’s infancy!

I arrived in Conakry on Monday afternoon after a tiring flight from London via Paris and Nouakchott (That’s in Mauritania in case you are wondering). Spending four months in the cold and grey weather in London meant that the thirty plus Celsius temperature coming out of the airplane on arrival was a quite a bit of a shock, so much so that my they body plainly refused to accept this and decided I should get a cold.

The way tiring way down

In Guinea, unlike Mozambique I’ve come to a project where I actually quite a few people, including one of my best men. This makes the arrival in Conakry, much easier than that of Beira, as there is always a familiar face to talk to when needed.

With regards to the city itself, I can’t form too much of an opinion just yet as I’ve only been here two full days and all I’ve seen is simply on the drives to work and back. Though I’m already trying to make plans with Adventure Pants to start exploring Conakry and whatever is close enough to visit.

However what I’ve seen is a busy ‘African’ city in which the main roads are tarred and in a decent condition, however the back roads tend to be dirt roads. Apart from this there are is no real building infrastructure and in some ways reminds me very much of Beira in Mozambique.

Seeing as I’ve arrived just before the start of the rainy season, it is slightly downcast, stuffy and dusty, so it doesn’t feel very vibrant but I guess that this is simply a question of me not seeing enough of the city, however look out for more once I start exploring.

Snapshots from Conakry

This entry was posted in Expat Life, Life in Conakry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Conakry: The adventure in it’s infancy!

  1. Glad you made it safely and hope you feel better soon!

  2. ekremma says:

    Nouakchott !!! how long you have stayed there? I’m sure that one day you will be a peace ambassador of the world & for now i must call you Sindibad, google him if you don’t know him.

    • Tonito says:

      hahaha Thanks Abdulati! I didn’t leave the airplane of airport in Nouakchott, so can’t add it to my list of places visited! And yes, another friend of mine calls me Sindibad!

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

