Sharing South Africa with the World: A tribute to Expat bloggers in South Africa

**I shall digress from blogging on Conakry for a little in order to give a shout-out to some fellow bloggers!**

Blogging is not only an outlet for things in your head and things you see, but it introduces you (whether you like it or not) to a world of bloggers out there. My blog started as personal diary project sharing my experience of living in Libya with family and friends; then morphed into a blog to share what Libya had to offer with the world; to some sort of travel blog etc.

However, suddenly I started receiving traffic from people who wanted to move to Libya but weren’t sure what to expect as there was so little information about Libya on the web. This created a community of expat bloggers in Libya who shared their experiences with anyone interested. It was being part of this community that one day become aware of a similar community in South Africa.

I discovered a community of expat bloggers sharing their experience of the country I love with the world. These were bloggers who share the good, the bad and the ugly of the country and I see them as a great resource for people considering moving to South Africa.

However what I fell in love with the most was that these expat bloggers were doing what I was doing in other countries, apart from my own: Exploring and being curious about people, places and things!

During my eighteen years in South Africa I was paralyzed by fear to explore beyond the borders of white suburban life. I left South Africa knowing very little about my own country. Despite wanting to see more of my country this was always limited to what I thought was safe to do. It is this group of bloggers I follow that are giving a renewed appetite to see my own my country behind the façade of tourism and white suburban life. They are showing what my country is really like, ten years after I left to study, work and explore the rest of the world.

Each one of the bloggers I will share here attempt to explore South Africa and it’s culture be it through photography, trips, stories and tips about the country. This post is a shout-out to 2Summers, Joburg Expat, Story of Bing, Home away from Home and Martina in Jozi who have become my window back to the country I love! Thank you girls (they all happen to be women!)

Please do check out their blogs if you are curious about South Africa and everything this amazing country has to offer!

This entry was posted in Random, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sharing South Africa with the World: A tribute to Expat bloggers in South Africa

  1. Jay says:

    Your blog story sounds very similar to how mine has progressed and I too love the community of bloggers. I’ve been following A Home Away From Home for quite some time and love Jenna and have recently found Story of Bing but I’ll most definitely check out the others as well!

    • Tonito says:

      Do you what it is about these bloggers that have captivated me? Their willingness to go out and explore South Africa. Through them I’m finally seeing the South Africa that I don’t see when I’m home! Check out all of them Jay, they are worth the read!!

  2. Jenna says:

    Wow, thank you so much for the shout out! Isn’t it funny how ex-pats tend to know a country better than most of the locals? Since I’m dating a South African when we first moved to Jo’burg I didn’t do hardly as much because it just seemed so normal and routine to us. It wasn’t until I became friends with 2Summers, Bing, and Martina that I realized how much jo’burg had to offer! Now I consciously try and seek these things out and my time here has been so so enriched by it.

    If you ever make it back, please get in touch with me. I would really love to meet up over a cup of coffee. 🙂

    xxx
    Jenna

    • Tonito says:

      No problem! I just love that I’m seeing South Africa and Joburg like I’ve never seen before and for that I’m grateful! Well I might be in South Africa sooner than I expect so will let you know! Will be good to meet another blogger as I don’t often meet the people who I talk to through the blog! Cheers! Tonito

  3. 2summers says:

    I’m embarrassed that I didn’t see this post until now. I was in Swaziland the weekend that you published it so I guess I got behind on my reading and wound up missing it. Anyway, thank you so much for writing such a nice post about me and my friends.

    • Tonito says:

      No, thank YOU! You’re blogs are all great and I honestly wanted to share that those who read mine as all of you provide great insight (and photos) of South Africa and beyond! 🙂

  4. Sine says:

    Hi Tonito, thanks so much for the shout out! I’m glad 2Summers told me about it as I had missed it. I feel the same as you about my home country – Germany. People will tell me of places they’ve visited and I have no idea what they’re talking about. I was recently asked to write some expat articles for another website, and feel competent offering all sorts of good advice on living in South Africa, but when I was then asked to do the same for Germany or the U.S.,I didn’t feel so sure at all, because I had never seen life there through the expat lens. I’m glad you enjoy seeing your country through our “expat lens”.

    • Tonito says:

      I have the same feeling when people ask me about the South Africa as I don’t know what to tell them about moving to SA. But thank YOU for the great blog and keeping me up to date with South Africa! 🙂

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

