Merci mes amis!

“The kindness I have longest remembered has been of this sort, the sort unsaid; so far behind the speaker’s lips that almost it already lay in my heart. It did not have far to go to be communicated.”

Henry David Thoreau

This week I read a post that made me smile as it made me think to something I’ve said and been told several times: sometimes without realizing it we make an impact on someone’s life be it small or great, that will stay with them for longer than you think. Why this introspection? Well today I had one of the most humbling, touching and heartwarming experiences I’ve had in my career.

The group of people who made today the highlight of my Guinea experience!

Today was my last day at work and while getting my laptop organized to hand back to the IT department, my local Guinean team members and colleagues came into my office to give me a parting gift. The gift was already a touching gesture but it was said to me which almost brought a tear to my eye. I prefer not to share what was said, but I will say that today I realized the importance of making time for people, a smile, a good morning, an attempt at speaking French etc… All this unknowingly makes a difference to how people remember you.

Some more of these great folks

“I don’t really care how I am remembered as long as I bring happiness and joy to people.”

Eddie Albert

This quote perfectly describes what I unashamedly think when it comes to how I want people to remember me and knowing that this in some way is true here in Guinea with my colleagues means that at least one thing I have done well.

Guinea might have not left with an abundance of memories, but this one is definitely follows the saying of “quality over quantity”!

The goodbye gifts

This entry was posted in Expat Life, Life in Conakry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

