Another Reason to hate apartheid… My inadvertent sex change…

The other day while on the phone to Home Affairs to find out about the status of Raquel’s visas, I was once again reminded of my own reasons to hate apartheid. Yes, I do hate apartheid for the reasons we all know, but I have a very personal grudge against those in power at the time. Why? Well, they kind of gave me a sex change without my consent.

Don’t worry, there was no snipping or anything of the sort. The issue was that of either a typo or simply down to the stupidity of some idiotic civil servant who struggled to do anything beyond their simple data entry job.

So why do I hate Apartheid?? Because they turned me into a female… I am Roberta and not Roberto on my ID document despite my documents stating that I’m male. Furthermore, two more visits to Home Affairs to correct this error didn’t seem to change anything as both times I came back as Roberta.

My reason to hate apartheid

My reason to hate apartheid

For twenty nine years I’ve borne this cross and most times I’ve forgotten about this little secret of mine, that is until I spoke to Home Affairs again and was asked to state my full name for security purpose, to which the person on the other side went “Roberta?? But that’s a girls name!”.

Thank you Apartheid!

This entry was posted in Life in South Africa and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Reason to hate apartheid… My inadvertent sex change…

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

