Travelling Tonito is Back

Travelling Tonito is back after a little hiatus, caused initially by theft of all my blogging equipment (see the post) and then, pure frustration on a personal front caused by a lack of activity on the job hunting front. All of this left me completely unmotivated to blog for the first time since starting this blog in January 2010.

However, I am back now, albeit at a slower pace initially, but with whole bunch of news to share on a few fronts. First things first; Raquel and I have finally moved to Johannesburg, after spending five months in my home town living with my parents again. Anyone who has lived away from home for a while and has had to move back in will know what it feels like to have their own place again, though don’t take this as a sign that my parents made our lives difficult, on the contrary they were awesome all the way through.

However as a recently married couple,  not having a place to call our own was not easy but finally things have started falling into place in this regard.

Furthermore, both Raquel and I have received and accepted job offers in March, though Raquel’s offer is completely dependent on a work permit being issued by the beginning of May, which is a bit of a bummer as Home Affairs is not known for is efficient service, but there’s nothing more we can do but wait and see.

I’ve already started working which is great as I was starting to get bored of spending so much time at home which was mostly spent on the PC looking for vacancies and dealing with incompetent recruitment agents (watch out for a rant post soon).

With all these changes in this short space of time, we are excited about our new life in Jozi and I look forwards to blogging more frequently again.

This entry was posted in Life in South Africa and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Travelling Tonito is Back

  1. beckydale says:

    Hello! I’m new to your bog, and was a bit bummed at the posting silence, but I’m glad you’re back up and running! Your story sounds a bit like mine. I was so bored in my full-time job-hunting job that I wrote a list of things I do throughout my period of unemployment.

    You’re not alone in this hiring struggle! But I’m glad you and Raquel have both found good opportunities for yourselves.

  2. Welcome back! It’s been a while. Looking forward to more adventures. And congrats to you both!

  3. Jay says:

    Welcome back & congratulations on the job! Looking forward to updates from SA!

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

