“Love comes more naturally to the human heart” – Goodbye Madiba

Over three years ago I wrote a post on Nelson Mandela’s birthday after finishing his autobiography Long Walk to Freedom. The book left me with an even greater sense of respect for him, especially as I kept thinking that I would never be able to forgive like he did. A week ago, Raquel and I watched the movie Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom and I was once again reminded of the great man he was and what he did for South Africa.

My favourite image of Madiba by Herb Ritts

My favourite image of Madiba by Herb Ritts

On Thursday night Madiba passed on and South Africa grieved collectively. It is indeed a sad time for the South Africa and the world, but an even sadder time for his family who spent most of their lives sharing this great man with the world and even now need to share.

Yes it is a sad time, but I prefer to reflect Madiba’s incredible legacy and what his sacrifices and hard work left for us: A South Africa that despite some teething problems I am incredibly proud of.

I’m sure that people must be so tired of seeing Mandela quotes everywhere, but I really wanted to share one quote I love:

“No one is born hating another person because of the color of his skin, or his background, or his religion. People must learn to hate, and if they can learn to hate, they can be taught to love, for love comes more naturally to the human heart than its opposite.” – Nelson Mandela

Rest in Peace Madiba and I hope that I can do my part to build the South Africa you worked so hard to create for us.

This entry was posted in Random, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

