A Helicopter with a view – Cape Town from the skies!

I don’t have a bucket list written down anywhere, it’s more a mental list I keep of things I want to do and places I want to go to and invariably this list just keeps getting longer as life goes on, but there are always some things that stay on the upper echelons of the list. In my case one of these is a helicopter ride. When I say going on a helicopter ride I mean being a passenger not flying one, so this really isn’t one of those WOW-factor items, but hey, I’m a simple guy!  Fortunately this opportunity arose on our second trip to Cape Town. It was not something we had planned to do, but whilst walking around the waterfront we were cornered by one the peddlers for these tours. We initially dismissed his attempts to sell us the tour, but while we were walking away I told Raquel that I’ve always wanted take a helicopter ride and she being the awesome wife she is simply said “Let’s do it!”.

We went back to the peddler and declared interest in a helicopter tour and even managed to negotiate the price down a little (or so he led us to believe). We would do a 30 minute tour which would take us along the Atlantic Coast viewing famous spots like the Cape Town Stadium, the 4 Beaches of Clifton, Camps Bay and the Twelve Apostles. Swing around Karbonkelberg to catch a glimpse of Hout Bay and Chapman’s Peak before returning back to the V&A Waterfront.

Unfortunately we had to share the four seat helicopter with two German boy band members (or so their attire alluded to) but Raquel was very quick-witted and quickly suggested that I sit next to the pilot (ie. the best seat) before the German Backstreet Boys could deliver an opinion. It was from this prime spot that I had the opportunity to take some awesome photos of this tour and this post will be another case where the photos will do the talking much better than I can. Enjoy!

DSC_0012 DSC_0015 DSC_0022 DSC_0032 DSC_0034 DSC_0037 DSC_0039 DSC_0042 DSC_0044 DSC_0047 DSC_0050 Panorama-2 Panorama1-2

This entry was posted in Africa, Expat Life, Life in South Africa, South Africa, Travels and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Helicopter with a view – Cape Town from the skies!

  1. These are spectacular photos Tonito! I like how the town is sprawling from the shore to the mountain slope or how the town is either sandwiched between mountains. It must be breezy down there?

    There’s just something about seeing the world from above and realize how tiny we really are. I have missed my chance of doing an aerial view tour when I was in Maldives last month. One of my biggest regrets! 😦

    • Tonito says:

      Thanks Parvis!

      The city is rather spectacular in terms of its location. There are certain areas of Cape Town which can get very windy! Its quite visible on some trees which are growing “off centre” due to the wind. You must definitely take the opportunity to see a place from helicopter or small plane the next time you have the chance 🙂

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

