Ze Romans vere here – Conimbriga, Portugal

Before going on holiday Raquel and I had spoken about perhaps travelling around Portugal and seeing some other places which I hadn’t visited on other trips. That was the plan. I used the past tense because in fact we did very little of that. On my part I know it was sheer laziness as my objective for the holiday (after arrival) was to do as little as possible. Yes. I became a sloth in Portugal.

Despite my lethargy, we did make a little afternoon trip a few days after Christmas just to get out of the house for a while. Our destination was Conimbriga, one of Portugal’s largest Roman settlements and pre cursor to the university city of Coimbra.

Raquel had mentioned Conimbriga a couple of times when we’ve discussed Roman architecture and some of the Roman ruins I visited in Libya at Sabratha and Leptis Magna. Raquel constantly mentioned the beautiful mosaics at Conimbriga, so it was decided that during our next trip to Portugal we should try and visit the national heritage.

I have to completely honest and say that I was slightly underwhelmed with what I found… Especially when compared to Sabratha and Leptis Magna in Libya. The site itself is large, but there are little if any descriptions around the site (some are oddly placed and other hidden). At most times you area looking and ruins and rocks but there is no cohesive story; no narrative.

The only good thing about this site is the amazing mosaics scattered around, which make the site worth visiting. The mosaics are intricate and you constantly find little details hidden on the panels, which don’t see the first time round. However, I do not think this makes it worth a trip out to Conimbriga.

Enjoy the photos of rubble and mosaics.

Panorama1-2 DSC_0010 DSC_0011 DSC_0021 Panorama-2 Panorama2-2 Panorama3-2 DSC_0062 DSC_0056 DSC_0055 DSC_0041 DSC_0007

This entry was posted in Europe, Portugal, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Let me know! :)

