Photo of the Week: Making my mark!

On the 7th of May 2014, just over twenty years after the birth of democracy in South Africa, I voted for the first time in a South African election. It was a proud moment for me as for the first time in my life I was able to choose who I wanted to govern my county. I was too young to take part in our first two elections and as I was abroad for the following two, I was ineligible to vote in those, which meant that at the “ripe old age” of thirty I voted for the first time. Having lived in two dictatorships, the UAE, which I don’t know how to classify, but it surely can’t be considered a democracy, I realize how important the ability to vote is, and therefore I refuse to take this right, so hard-fought by great South Africans, for granted.

photo-2

This entry was posted in iPhone, Life in South Africa, Photo of the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts? Let me know! :)